Actually that is working as intended. If you look at the tooltip of the setting it says: "When set to zero, messages will be saved during the session." Aka: When the value is zero messages won't be saved over multiple sessions.
Ah okay :) thanks for the clarification. May I request then a way to save messages permanently then. (not that 720 hours is short by any means lol)